Four Sooners Named All-Big 12 First Team

Wednesday, December 5th 2012, 1:07 pm
By: News 9

Four Sooners were named to the All-Big 12 First Team. Offensive lineman Gabe Ikard and fullback Trey Millard were named to the first team along with defensive backs Aaron Colvin and Tony Jefferson.

Ikard and Millard were both named to the first team for a second consecutive year, while Jefferson earned first-team honors after earning honorable mention honors in 2011. Colvin received first-team recognition for his play at cornerback in 2012 after working at safety last season. Ikard, a junior from Oklahoma City, Okla., also earned honorable mention in the Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year voting.

Five OU players were named to the All-Big 12 Second Team. Wide receiver Kenny Stills and cornerback Demontre Hurst both repeated as second-team selections from 2011. Defensive lineman David King, offensive lineman Lane Johnson and running back Damien Williams also earned spots on the second-team squad. Additionally, Williams garnered honorable mention accolades in the Big 12 Offensive Newcomer of the Year voting.

Four Sooners were named to the 2012 All-Big 12 Honorable Mention Team. Quarterback Landry Jones, the Big 12 career leader in both total offense and passing offense, represented an Oklahoma offense that ranks fifth in the nation in passing offense (341.3 yards per game) and 10th in total offense (505.9 ypg). Offensive lineman Daryl Williams was also an honorable mention selection.

Wide receiver Justin Brown earned honorable mention status as both a receiver and a return man. Punter Tress Way also represented the Sooners' special teams as an honorable mention pick. Oklahoma's special teams rank fourth among FBS teams with a 26.5-yard kickoff return average and sixth in the country with a 14.9-yard punt return average.

Jefferson, Colvin, King and Hurst spearheaded an Oklahoma squad that ranks second in the Big 12 in pass defense (197.7 ypg). Jefferson, a junior safety from Chula Vista, Calif., ranks fourth in the nation among defensive backs with 113 tackles, a total that leads all Oklahoma defenders and ranks second in the Big 12. Colvin ranks second in the Big 12 with 1.25 passes defended per game and boasts a team-high 11 passes defensed, along with four interceptions.

In addition, wide receiver Sterling Shepard earned honorable mention status in the voting for Big 12 Freshman of the Year.

The University of Oklahoma has placed at least one player on the all-conference first team every season since 1926 (87 years). In fact, OU has only had one season when playing in a conference without first-team honors (1925). That's 97 of 98 seasons.

AP Tabs Three Sooners on All-Big 12 First Team

Three Sooners were named to the Associated Press All-Big 12 First Team, while three other Oklahoma players were named to the AP All-Big 12 Second Team on Wednesday.

Junior C Gabe Ikard earned his second straight first-team berth on the AP squad, while junior DBs Aaron Colvin and Tony Jefferson made their initial appearance on the first unit. Jefferson was an honorable mention pick in 2011.

Junior Trey Millard earned second-team honors from AP as a tight end, while junior WR Kenny Stills was also a second-team selection. Stills made the AP squad as an honorable mention honorable last season. Senior QB Landry Jones tied for the second-team quarterback spot with West Virginia's Geno Smith.