OU's Jimmy Stevens Named To Lou Groza Award Watch List

Thursday, July 7th 2011, 8:53 pm
By: News 9


NORMAN, Oklahoma – The Palm Beach County Sports Commission announced the preseason watch list for the Lou Groza Award Thursday, and Oklahoma's Jimmy Stevens was among the 30 players named.

The Lou Groza Award is given annually to the nation's best kicker and last season was awarded to Oklahoma State's Dan Bailey, who since has graduated.

This is the third year in a row that Stevens has been among the 30 players named to the preseason watch list for the Groza Award, but he has never been part of the group of 20 semifinalists announced later in the season.

A native of Oklahoma City, Stevens has struggled with inconsistency at times. He was benched at the beginning of last year in favor of Patrick O'Hara, but he regained his starting spot in Week 4. He finished the season strong, making 12 of his final 13 field goal attempts.

Full Lou Groza Award Watch List

Michael Barbour – East Carolina

Casey Barth – North Carolina

Rob Beard – Oregon

Maikon Bonani – South Florida

Randy Bullock – Texas A&M

Dan Conroy – Michigan State

Derek Dimke – Illinois

Ross Evans – TCU

Mitch Ewald – Indiana

Trey Farquhar – Idaho

Erik Folk – Washington

Nate Freese – Boston College

Kevin Goessling – Fresno State

Jack Griffin – Florida International

Zach Hocker – Arkansas

Dustin Hopkins – Florida State

Danny Hrapmann – Southern Mississippi

Aaron Jones – Baylor

Ross Krautman – Syracuse

Abel Perez – San Diego State

Grant Ressel – Missouri

Bryson Rose – Ole Miss

David Ruffer – Notre Dame

Jimmy Stevens – Oklahoma

Will Synderwine – Duke

Dave Teggart – Connecticut

Justin Tucker – Texas

Blair Walsh – Georgia

Phillip Welch – Wisconsin

Alex Zandejas – Arizona