Adcock, Taylor And Habern Included On Outland Trophy List

Friday, July 8th 2011, 10:35 am
By: News 9

DALLAS – The 2011 Outland Trophy watch list, which honors college football's top interior lineman, was released Friday and it includes three in-state players.

Oklahoma State offensive tackle Levy Adcock and guard Lane Taylor, along with OU center Ben Habern have all been included on the list of 65 players in consideration for the prestigious award.

Adcock, a senior from Claremore, Okla., has provided size and athleticism inside for the Cowboys. His sophomore year he played in all 13 games for OSU primarily on special teams.

The other Cowboy on the list, Lane Taylor is a junior from Arlington, Texas. In 2009 he earned a starting position at right guard and has made a big impact in the interior ever since. That same year he helped the Cowboys lead the Big 12 in rushing for the fourth straight season.

For the Sooners, Habern is a junior lineman from Argyle, Texas. Last season he started all 14 games for OU and led the offensive lineman with 1,070 snaps played and 123 tackles. He was also named to the All-Big 12 honorable mention team by the Associated Press.

Of the 65 players on the watch list, 16 defensive tackles occupied spots. The rest of the linemen were on offense.

The Outland Trophy has been presented annually since 1946 and is the third oldest award in major college football. The award is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman who played at Penn and the University of Kansas.

The Outland Trophy winner will be chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team, and will be announced on Dec. 8.

The trophy presentation banquet will be held on Jan. 12, 2012, in Omaha, Neb.