Blackmon, Broyles Named Biletnikoff Semifinalists

Monday, November 14th 2011, 1:00 pm
By: News 9

The semifinalists for the 2011 Biletnikoff Award, which honors the nation's top receiver, were announced Monday and Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon and Oklahoma's Ryan Broyles both made the list.

Blackmon, who won the award last year, and Broyles are two of the ten semifinalists chosen from across the country.

So far this season for the Cowboys, Blackmon has 93 catches for 1142 yards and 14 touchdowns. He averages 12.3 yards per carry and in six-of-ten games this season he has had more than 100 yards receiving.

Broyles racked up 83 catches for 1157 yards and 10 touchdowns this season for the Sooners. In the Sooners game against Texas A&M on November 5 Broyles suffered a season ending knee injury when he tore his ACL.

Related Story: Ryan Broyles Out For Season With Torn ACL

Before the injury, Broyles set records with the most career receptions, yards and touchdowns in school history, and broke the NCAA record for receptions in a career earlier this season. In six-of-nine games this season, the Norman, Okla. native totaled more than 100 yards receiving including a season high 217 yards and two touchdowns at Kansas.

Blackmon won the 2010 Biletnikoff award after setting an OSU record, and NCAA record for a sophomore with 1,782 yards last season. He also set school records with 20 touchdown catches and 111 receptions. The Ardmore, Okla. native also set an NCAA record last year with 12 straight games with at least 100 receiving yards and a touchdown.

The winner of the 2011 Biletnikoff Award will be announced Dec. 8 at 8 p.m. CST on the College Football Awards Show on ESPN.

2011 Biletnikoff Semifinalists:
Keenan Allen-Cal
Justin Blackmon-Oklahoma State
Ryan Broyles- Oklahoma
Patrick Edwards-Houston
Michael Floyd-Notre Dame
A.J. Jenkins-Illinois
Sammy Watkins-Clemson
Jordan White-WMU
Robert Woods-USC
Kendall Wright-Baylor