Five In-State Receivers Make Biletnikoff Watch List

Tuesday, July 16th 2013, 12:55 pm

By: News 9

A good showing from in-state receivers highlights the preseason watch list for the 2013 Biletnikoff Award, which goes to the outstanding receiver in college football. The Tallahassee Quarterback Foundation announced the list on Tuesday.

Tracy Moore and Josh Stewart of Oklahoma State, Jalen Saunders and Trey Metoyer of Oklahoma and Keyarris Garrett of Tulsa made the preseason list. Others could be added to the list during the first few weeks of the season.

Moore returns for a fifth season in Stillwater after an injury derailed what looked to be a promising season last year; his first as the top target for the Cowboys. Still, he ranks among the top 15 all-time in receiving yards and catches at OSU.

Stewart was an All-Big 12 Honorable Mention last year with 101 catches, 1,210 receiving yards and seven touchdowns as a sophomore for the Cowboys.

Saunders sat the first four games for the Sooners last season, but he broke out against Notre Dame with 15 grabs and 181 yards. The 92.1 yards per game he averaged in his junior campaign was good for fifth in the Big 12.

Metoyer showed potential as a true freshman for Bob Stoops' squad but didn't appear ready for conference play. Metoyer caught 17 passes for 148 yards and a touchdown in 2012.

Garrett had a monster sophomore year for the Golden Hurricane. He led the team in catches (67), receiving yards (845) and touchdowns (9) last season.

Other Big 12 receivers represented on the list are: Brandon Carter (TCU), Tevin Reese (Baylor), Mike Davis (Texas), Jaxon Shipley (Texas), Jordan Thompson (West Virginia) and Eric Ward (Texas Tech).


Get The Daily Update!

Be among the first to get breaking news, weather, and general news updates from News 9 delivered right to your inbox!

More Like This

July 16th, 2013

July 20th, 2022

August 31st, 2021

August 13th, 2021

Top Headlines

September 28th, 2022

September 28th, 2022

September 28th, 2022

September 28th, 2022