Governor Issues State Of Emergency For 15 Counties Affected By Severe Storms

Tuesday, May 10th 2016, 1:19 pm
By: News 9

Gov. Mary Fallin has declared a state of emergency for the 15 counties affected by Sunday and Monday's tornadoes and severe storms. 

The counties are: Atoka, Bryan, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Garvin, Johnston, Kay, McCurtain, Murray, Noble, Payne, Stephens and Tillman.

Earlier Tuesday, Fallin released the following statement regarding Monday’s tornadoes and storms in Oklahoma:

“My thoughts and prayers go out to the families of those who were killed or hurt as a result of these storms. I am in constant contact with our State Emergency Operations Center and I know local authorities are doing everything they can to respond to those affected by the storms.

 “With the threat of severe weather returning to our state Wednesday, I am asking all Oklahomans to stay aware of the weather and to take proper precautions to keep themselves out of harm’s way.

“I want to thank groups like the American Red Cross, the Salvation Army and the Baptist General Convention of Oklahoma for feeding first responders, providing bulk distribution of cleanup supplies and assisting families whose homes were damaged or destroyed. The Baptist General Convention of Oklahoma is also providing assistance with roof-tarping and large debris removal.”

In all, the Storm Prediction Center received 23 reports of tornadoes in Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Nebraska and Oklahoma. The storms also downed trees and damaged buildings in northeast Texas, and dropped softball-sized hail in Lincoln, Nebraska.