Shake-Up At The State Capitol: Tuesday's Primary Results

After Tuesday nights primary election results, News 9's Haley Weger shared significant results.

Wednesday, June 19th 2024, 5:50 pm

By: News 9, Haley Weger


There was a shakeup at the state Capitol after Tuesday’s primary election.

Between the state House and Senate, there were 53 races, resulting in four incumbents losing their seats, and ten runoff elections set for August.

One of the biggest surprises came out of Senate District 13 in Ada. Senate Majority Floor Leader Greg McCortney (R-Ada) was defeated by newcomer Jonathan Wingard (R-D13) by about 250 votes. This race was especially important because McCortney was recently given the title of Senate Pro-Tem Elect, after overwhelmingly garnering the votes during the legislative session.

Now state senators will have to take a new Pro-Tem vote in November.

Incumbent Senators Jessica Garvin (R-D43) of Duncan and Cody Rogers (R-D37) of Tulsa lost their reelection bids to newcomers as well, and state House incumbent John Talley (R-D33) of Stillwater lost his seat.

Senate District 3 started with three opponents and will advance to a runoff election between incumbent Sen. Blake “Cowboy” Stephens (R-D3) and Julie McIntosh. McIntosh was endorsed by Governor Kevin Stitt who noted her interest in tax cuts. 

Stephens was ahead of McIntosh by less than 100 votes Tuesday night.

SD-15 in Norman, SD-33 in Broken Arrow and SD-47 in Oklahoma City will all head to runoffs to replace term-limited senators.

HD-20 in Newcastle, HD-50 in Duncan, HD-53 in Moore and HD-60 in Yukon will also advance to runoff elections between newcomers looking at the August ballot.

In Broken Arrow, incumbent Representative Dean Davis (R-D98) is headed to a runoff with a newcomer.

House District 32 will be an interesting runoff to watch, between current House Appropriations Chair Kevin Wallace (R-D32) and newcomer Jim Shaw.

Wallace has led the House’s budget negotiations for the last few sessions, drafting the final budget bills for the state.

Shaw was leading in last night's primary.

The runoff election is set for August 27.

Another closely watched vote was House District 99 in northeast Oklahoma City, because of a lawsuit between the two candidates. 

Incumbent Representative Ajay Pittman (D-D99) was suing her opponent, Brittane Grant, arguing she is not fit for office because of a 2016 felony charge. Pittman is suing Grant, the State Election Board, and Paul Ziriax, in his official capacity as Chief Administrative Officer of the Election Board. 

In a lawsuit filed by Ajay's campaign on June 6, it cites a portion of the state constitution that says, "No person shall serve as a member of the Legislature who is, at the time of such service, an officer of the United States or State government, or is receiving compensation as such; nor shall any person be eligible to election to the legislature, who has been adjudged guilty of a felony." 

They also cite Oklahoma Statutes, Title 26, Section 5-105a: which says, "A person who has been convicted […] a felony under the laws of this state or has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to such crime shall not be eligible to be a candidate." 

The race for HD-99 was a close one, but Pittman did come out on top. Because of her victory last night, her attorney tells News 9 that they plan to drop the lawsuit Thursday.

Here are some of the results for Oklahoma elections. For the full list, click here:

Other Significant Election Results:

Corporation Commissioner

✅J. Brian Bingman- Won with 53.42% of the votes

Russel Ray- 17.91%

Justin Hornback- 28.67%

U.S. Representative District 01

✅Kevin Hern- Won with 87.03% of the votes

Paul Royse- 12.97%

U.S. Representative District 03

✅Frank D. Lucas- Won with 73.02% of the votes

Robin Lynn Carder- 13.06%

Darren Hamilton- 13.92%

U.S. Representative District 04

✅Tom Cole- Won with 64.63% of the votes

Paul L. Bondar- 25.80%

Nick Hankins- 2.01%

Andrew Hayes- 4.08%

Rick Harris- 3.47%

State Representative District 99

✅Ajay Pittman- Won with 53.53%

Brittane Grant- 46.47%

Blaine County Sheriff

✅Travis Lee Daugherty- Won with 62.4% of the votes

Tony Almaguer- 37.6%

Canadian County Sheriff

✅Chris West- Won with 81.8% of the votes

Justin Mize- 18.2%

Cleveland County Sheriff

✅Chris Amason- Won with 53.4% of the votes

Julie Tipton 33%

Tim Deal- 13.7%

State Senate District 13

✅Johnathan Wingard- Won with 51.8% of the votes

Greg McCortney- 48.2%

McCurtain County Sheriff 

✅Bruce Shirley- Won with 49.4% of the votes

Jason Ricketts- 32.2%

Kevin Clardy- 18.3%

State Senate District 43

✅Kendall Sacchieri- Won with 53.3% of the votes

Jessica Garvin- 46.7%

Races going into a runoff:

Senate District 1 goes into a runoff

House District 32 goes into a runoff 

House District 53 goes into a runoff

House District 60 goes into a runoff


Get The Daily Update!

Be among the first to get breaking news, weather, and general news updates from News 9 delivered right to your inbox!

More Like This

June 19th, 2024

June 27th, 2024

June 19th, 2024

June 18th, 2024

Top Headlines

July 14th, 2024

July 14th, 2024

July 14th, 2024

July 14th, 2024