Gov. Stitt Requests Major Disaster Declaration From Federal Government After October Ice Storm

Friday, November 13th 2020, 4:39 pm
By: News 9, News On 6


On behalf of the state of Oklahoma, Governor Kevin Stitt requested a major disaster declaration from the federal government after October's historic ice storm statewide.

Thirteen counties are included in Stitt's declaration: Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Dewey, Grady, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, Noble, Oklahoma, Payne, Pottawatomie and Roger Mills.

While damage assessments are in progress statewide, the governor's office said the ice storm was responsible for $27 million worth of damage and debris removal.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, damage assessments were done virtually by state and local emergency management teams.

Pending approval of the declaration, the federal funding would aid "municipalities, counties, tribes and rural electric cooperatives with debris removal, infrastructure repairs and other costs associated with responding to the storm."

Gov. Stitt added that more counties may be added to the original declaration in the coming weeks.