Fallen Seminole Deputies, EMS Honored at Awards Ceremony

Friday, February 26th 2010, 6:51 pm
By: News 9

By Colleen Chen, NEWS 9

OKLAHOMA CITY -- The Oklahoma Sheriffs and Peace Officers Association hands out awards each year for those who have gone above and beyond in law enforcement. The bravery of those involved in the recovery efforts of two Seminole County Sheriffs deputies killed in the line of duty were honored Friday night.

Deputy Chase Whitebird and Captain Marvin Williams died in the line of duty in July of 2009 when they were ambushed while trying to serve an arrest warrant. Family members of the two men accepted the OSPOA's Medal of Honor Friday on their behalf.

"We love them so much and are so proud of them", said Marvin's brother Willie Williams.

Williams says he can't thank Seminole Sheriff Shannon Smith enough for his leadership in the aftermath of the shootings. Smith was among dozens who received the Medal of Valor.

Medics Josh Choate and Scott Morgan accepted the Medal of Valor for being among the first run through gunfire to aid the fallen. (link list that will be scanned in) Dozens of others were honored for their roles in the Seminole shooting case and others. The awards were handed out at the Biltmore Hotel in Oklahoma City

See a full list of all the OSPOA award winners

More on News9.com: Law Enforcement Community Helps Seminole County Heal