OU's Ellenberg And Hand On Naismith Watch

Thursday, November 15th 2012, 3:49 pm
By: News 9

University of Oklahoma women's basketball players Aaryn Ellenberg and Whitney Hand are among those selected for the Naismith Women's College Player of the Year Early Season Watch List.

The 50 player watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, whose criteria is based on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2012-2013 college basketball season.

Through two games, Ellenberg is OU's leading scorer with 21.5 points per game. The junior guard has 179 career 3-pointers, which ranks second all-time at Oklahoma.

Hand averages 16.5 points and a team-leading 7.0 rebounds. The senior co-captain is fifth among the Big 12 Conference's active career scoring and rebounding leaders.

The Naismith Women's College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 8, 2013, in New Orleans, La.

Notable Naismith Women's College Player of the Year winners include Chamique Holdsclaw, Lisa Leslie, Rebecca Lobo, and Tina Charles.