Winter Storm Leads To State Of Emergency In 56 Oklahoma Counties

Monday, February 25th 2013, 2:20 pm
By: News 9

At the request of Gov. Mary Fallin, Lt. Governor Todd Lamb has declared a State of Emergency for 56 Oklahoma counties due to the excessive snow and severe weather.

News 9 Winter Weather: Follow The Storm

"The winter storm has already caused dangerous travel condition in northwest Oklahoma as well as sub-freezing temperatures," said Lt. Governor Lamb. "I am urging Oklahomans in the impacted areas to take winter storm precautions and stay off the roads unless travel is absolutely necessary. This is a very serious winter storm and we want Oklahomans to stay safe."

2/25/2013 Related Story: Oklahoma Highway Patrol Closes Highways In Panhandle, NW OK

The counties included in the State of Emergency are: Adair, Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Cherokee, Cimarron, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Craig. Creek, Custer, Delaware, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, Major, Mayes, McClain, McIntosh, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pottawatomie, Roger Mills, Rogers, Seminole, Texas, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, Woods and Woodward.

The executive order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases related to disaster relief and preparedness. It is also a first step toward seeking federal assistance, if it's needed.

If conditions worsen across the state, the declaration could be amended to include additional counties.