Warr Acres citizens elect five

Thursday, February 21st 2008, 4:12 pm
By: News 9

Warr Acres voters decided five City Council positions at the Special Election March 4. 

Doug Davis won the Ward 1 council seat with 216 or 54.8% of the vote.  Ward 1 runs from Ann Arbor to the west between NW 63rd and Wilshire.  The seat is currently held by Jeff Martinez since 2005.  Stan Street, also a Ward 1 councilman, was elected in 2006.

See the map for Warr Acres Ward 1 (PDF).

Incumbent Nancy Olson won re-election to the Ward 2 council position with 53.6% of the voters showing support.  Olson has held the council seat since 2004.  Ward 2 is roughly located from NW 63rd to NW 56th/NW 58th and from Mueller to Grove.  Dr. Stewart Sharpiro, elected in 2005, is also a Ward 2 councilman.

See the map for Warr Acres Ward 2 (PDF).

Voters gave the nod narrowly to Phillip P. Owens II in Ward 3, choosing not to re-elect opponent Walter Johnson.  Owens received 50.7% of the vote or 136 votes. Johnson received 49.3% or 132 votes. Ward 3 boundaries are from NW 58th to NW 42nd and from Ann Arbor to the west.  Dean Johnson, another Ward 3 councilman, was elected in 2007.

See the map for Warr Acres Ward 3 (PDF).

Mike Gossman (incumbant) won over opponent Jan Blake in the Ward 4 councilman Gossman received 64.7% of the vote.  Richard Bricker won the remainder of a second Ward 4 term (one year) with 56% of the vote.  Ward 4 is located from NW 50th to NW 33rd and from Meridian to the west.

See the map for Warr Acres Ward 4 (PDF).

Click here for a full list of election results.