2001: OSU Holds News Conference, Reveals Names Of Those On Plane

Wednesday, January 19th 2011, 5:01 pm
By: News 9


January 27, 2001

OKLAHOMA CITY - On January 27, 2001, a plane carrying members of the OSU basketball team crashed near Byers, Colorado, while returning from a game in Boulder.

During an emotional news conference a few hours later, OSU revealed Denver Mills, Nate Fleming, Dan Lawson, Jared Weiberg, Pat Noyes, Bill Teegins, Will Hancock, Brian Luinstra, Kendall Durfey and Bjorn Fahlstrom were on board.  Although the university did not have confirmation of the fate of the passengers and pilots, it prepared families, students and staff for the worst.

"This is indeed a very sad day for Oklahoma State University," said OSU president James Halligan.  "My wife and I have met with Coach Sutton and the other coaches and the players.  We have insured that our counseling staff is available to all the players to address their psychological needs."

"Our concern at this time is in particular of the families that are involved, [to] make certain that we contact appropriate members as quickly as possible. That has been our primary concern."

Today and always, News 9 will Remember the Ten.