Fallin Seeks Disaster Declaration For February Snow Storm

Tuesday, April 5th 2011, 2:41 pm
By: News 9


OKLAHOMA CITY -- Gov. Mary Fallin announced Tuesday she's asked the White House to make a major disaster declaration for the snow storm that slammed Oklahoma in February.

The major disaster declaration would deliver public assistance to 16 Oklahoma counties affected by severe winter weather from January 31 through February 5: Craig, Creek, Jefferson, Logan, Mayes, Nowata, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Pottawatomie, Rogers, Stephens, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington. More counties may be added to the request as more damage assessments are completed.

"The severe winter storms caused widespread damage and cost local communities millions of dollars," said Fallin. "This major disaster declaration will allow local and state governments to seek help with eligible infrastructure repair costs."

Initial surveys estimate the storms cost the 16 Oklahoma counties more than $8.7 million. If the declaration is granted, federal funding would be made available to cities, towns and counties to help pay for infrastructure repairs and costs associated with the snow storm.

Fallin declared a state of emergency in Oklahoma on January 31, and requested a federal emergency declaration. The White House approved it and authorized direct federal resources to help with response efforts.

More: Second Snowstorm In A Week Slams Oklahoma