Governor Expands Burn Ban To All 77 Oklahoma Counties

Wednesday, August 3rd 2011, 3:24 pm
By: News 9

Deanne Stein,

OKLAHOMA CITY -- The ban on outdoor burning is expanded to all 77 counties in Oklahoma.

Governor Mary Fallin's Executive Proclamation expands the 45-county burn ban that was put in place on July 14. Fallin extended the ban because drought conditions have gotten worse.

"We have just experienced the hottest July on record," Fallin said. "The predictions of unrelenting extreme heat with no relief in sight make the statewide burn ban necessary."

Oklahoma Forestry Services, a division of the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry, report increased fire activity across the state. Firefighter fatigue is a growing concern.

For now, gas and charcoal grilling is allowed but only over a nonflammable surface and at least five feet from flammable vegetation.

Here's what you CAN NOT do under the ban:

Build campfires or bonfires
Use fireworks
Burn trash, grass, woods or other materials outdoors

Read the complete list of activities you can and can not do under this ban.

Despite the list, Oklahomans are urged to be extremely cautious at all times while outdoors.

"With these extremely dry conditions we urge the public to use every precaution," said George Geissler, State Forester and Director of Oklahoma Forestry Services. "Fires are starting from simple things like flat tires creating sparks, cars parked in dry grass and discarded cigarettes. We all need to be extremely vigilant."