Low-Interest Loans Available For Drought-Stricken Oklahoma Businesses

Thursday, November 17th 2011, 10:29 am
By: News 9

The U.S. Small Business Administration says help is available for small, non-farm businesses in some Oklahoma and Arkansas counties that have been affected by excessive heat and drought.

SBA officials said Wednesday eligible businesses and non-profit organizations can apply for low-interest disaster loans to offset economic losses brought on by the heatwave and drought for a period that began May 1.

The eligible counties in Oklahoma are Adair; Cherokee; Craig; Creek; Delaware; Mayes; Nowata; Okmulgee; Osage; Ottawa; Pawnee; Tulsa; Washington and Wagoner. The eligible Arkansas county is Benton.

The SBA says businesses which depend on farmers and ranchers that have been affected by the heat and drought also are eligible for assistance.

Eight Oklahoma counties and Benton County in Arkansas were included this week in an agriculture natural disaster declaration.