Ten Wrestlers Named To Academic All-Big 12 Team

Wednesday, March 6th 2013, 3:10 pm
By: News 9

Ten total wrestlers from Oklahoma State and Oklahoma have been named to the 2013 Academic All-Big 12 wrestling team.

OSU wrestlers include Chris Chionuma, Chris Perry, Jordan Oliver, Tommy Diaz, Joe Ali and Alex Dieringer. The Cowboys and West Virginia led the league with six selections each.

OU wrestlers include Dillon Dennis, Patrick Graham, Kendric Maple, and Nolan McBryde.

The 2013 team is made up of 18 student-athletes, including10 first team honorees and eight second team selections.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

2013 Academic All-Big 12 Wrestling Team

First team (3.20-plus GPA)

Chris Perry, Oklahoma State

Chris Chionuma, Oklahoma State

Max Mayfield, Iowa State

Dillon Dennis, Oklahoma

Patrick Graham, Oklahoma

Kendric Maple, Oklahoma

Amador Ayala, West Virginia

Michael Bolash, West Virginia

Lance Bryson, West Virginia

Philip Manzdik, West Virgina

Second team (3.00-3.19 GPA)

Alex Dieringer, Oklahoma State

Jordan Oliver, Oklahoma State

Tommy Diaz, Oklahoma State

Joe Ali, Oklahoma State

Boaz Beard, Iowa State

Nolan McBryde, Oklahoma

Nathan Pennesi, West Virginia

Jeffrey Yeatman, West Virginia