Seeds Announced For Saturday's Big 12 Wrestling Championships

Saturday, March 9th 2013, 2:54 pm

By: News 9

The brackets are set for the 2013 Big 12 Wrestling Championships in Gallagher-Iba Arena and host Oklahoma State leads the way with seven No. 1 seeds.

The Cowboys secured the Big 12 regular season team title on Friday night with drubbings of Oklahoma (40-3), Iowa State (28-6) and West Virginia (57-0).

Iowa State has two No. 1 seeds and Oklahoma has one.

The action starts tonight at 5 p.m. in Stillwater.

At 125 pounds, true freshman Eddie Klimara from Oklahoma State earned the one seed, with Iowa State's Ryak Finch No. 2, West Virginia's Shane Young No. 3 and Oklahoma's Kyle Garcia No. 4.

At 133 pounds, the Cowboys' Jon Morrison is No. 1, with Oklahoma's Cody Brewer No. 2, Iowa State's John Meeks No. 3 and West Virginia's Colin Johnston No. 4.

The nation's top 141-pounder, Oklahoma's Kendric Maple, leads the way in his weight class, followed by second-seeded Luke Goettl of Iowa State and third-seeded Julian Feikert of Oklahoma State. West Virginia's Nathan Pennesi is No. 4.

Wrestling for the last time in Gallagher-Iba Arena, Oklahoma State's Jordan Oliver is the top seed at 149 pounds. Oklahoma's Nick Lester is No. 2, with Iowa State's Max Mayfield No. 3 and West Virginia's George Scheffel No. 4.

Oklahoma State freshman Alex Dieringer leads the pack at 157 pounds, with Oklahoma's Matt Lester No. 2, West Virginia's Jason Luster No. 3 and Iowa State's Logan Molina No. 4.

Perhaps the most talented weight class in the Big 12 this year is 165 pounds, where Oklahoma State's Tyler Caldwell is No. 1, Oklahoma's Bubby Graham is No. 2, Iowa State's Mike Moreno is No. 3 and West Virginia's Ross Renzi is No. 4.

Looking for his third Big 12 title in as many tries, Chris Perry is No. 1 at 174 pounds, followed by No. 2 Tanner Weatherman of Iowa State, No. 3 Bubba Scheffel of West Virginia and No. 4 Kyle Detmer of Oklahoma.

At 184 pounds, Iowa State's Boaz Beard holds the top spot, followed by Oklahoma State's Chris Chionuma at No. 2, Oklahoma's Matt Reed at No. 3 and West Virginia's Lance Bryson at No. 4.

A Cyclone also leads the pack at 197 pounds, where Kyven Gadson holds the No. 1 seed. Oklahoma State's Blake Rosholt is No. 2, West Virginia's A.J. Vizcarrando is No. 3 and Oklahoma's Brad Johnson rounds out the weight class at No. 4.

The heavyweight division is led by Oklahoma State's Alan Gelogaev, with Iowa State's Matt Gibson No. 2, Oklahoma's Keldrick Hall No. 3 and West Virginia's Phil Mandzik No. 4.

Seeding Breakdown

No. 1 Seeds - Oklahoma State 7, Iowa State 2, Oklahoma 1, West Virginia 0

No. 2 Seeds - Iowa State 4, Oklahoma 4, Oklahoma State 2, West Virginia 0

No. 3 Seeds - West Virginia 4, Iowa State 3, Oklahoma 2, Oklahoma State 1

No. 4 Seeds - West Virginia 6, Oklahoma 3, Iowa State 1, Oklahoma State 0


Get The Daily Update!

Be among the first to get breaking news, weather, and general news updates from News 9 delivered right to your inbox!

More Like This

March 9th, 2013

July 20th, 2022

August 31st, 2021

August 13th, 2021

Top Headlines

September 30th, 2022

September 30th, 2022

September 30th, 2022

September 30th, 2022