Three In The Sooner State Named To Thorpe Award Watch List

Friday, July 12th 2013, 5:22 pm
By: News 9

Three Oklahoma college football players were named to the Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list, given to the nation's best defensive back.

Tulsa safety Demarco Nelson, Oklahoma State safety Daytawion Lowe and Oklahoma cornerback Aaron Colvin were all named to the watch list, announced Friday.

The Jim Thorpe Award was established in 1986 and is named after history's greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe. In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

In 2012, Lowe tied for the Cowboys' team lead with 75 tackles to with two interceptions. He also returned a fumble for a touchdown against Purdue in the Heart of Dallas Bowl. Lowe has started 26 consecutive games for the Cowboys and leads the team in total tackles since 2011.

Nelson, a 6'0", 195-pound senior, enters the 2013 season having played in 40 career games. He has totaled 239 tackles, 14 pass break-ups and eight interceptions during his career. In 2012, Nelson had 80 stops, four tackles for lost yards, three pass break-ups and two pick-offs. He was a second-team all-Conference USA selection a year ago.

Colvin, also a senior, was third on the Sooners in tackles last season, finishing the year with 61 tackles, including 2.5 for loss and two sacks. Colvin was second on the team with four interceptions and led the team with 11 passes broken up and 11 passes defended.

The Thorpe Award Winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12, 2013 on ESPN. The Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held on Tuesday, February 4, 2014 in Oklahoma City.