OBU Men And Women Take SAC Track And Field Championships

Monday, April 21st 2014, 2:20 pm
By: News 9

Oklahoma Baptist dominated both the men's and women's standings at the Sooner Athletic Conference Track and Field Championships Saturday in Shawnee.

OBU won the women's race with 310 points, followed by Wayland Baptist with 133, St. Gregory's with 61, Northwood with 47, Texas Wesleyan with 39, Oklahoma City with 24, Southwestern Christian with 17 and John Brown with 1.

The OBU men won with 275 points, followed by Wayland Baptist at 171, SGU at 86, OCU with 47, NU at 43, SCU at 8, TWU at 6 and JBU with 1.

Jura Levy, who won the 100 and 200 and was on the winning 4x400 relay, was named SAC Women's Athlete of the Year. The men's award was presented to Caleb Neal, who scored in seven different events. OBU Coach Ford Mastin took home Coach of the Year honors for the women with Mark Heard, OBU assistant coach, accepting the men's honor.

Levy improved her NAIA-leading time in the 100 at 11.43 seconds. Gortia Ferguson (11.65) and Alexis Browner (11.69) A standards. Levy also won the 200 at 23.89. Ferguson (24.56) and Browner (24.62) of WBU also recorded A times.

OBU's Stacy Warrior won the 400 at 54.21 for a new NAIA top time. Taylor Moore also got an A standard at 56.96.

Hannah Helker met the A standard in the 1500 meters, winning in 4:27.63, improving her national third-ranked time.

OBU improved its ranking to third in the 4x400 with a winning time of 3:46.59.

OCU's Katrina Nolan met the A standard in winning the 3,000 steeple chase in 11:23.16.

Aspen Marical of OBU won the 100 hurdles in 14.55 seconds to improve her national ranking to ninth with an A standard time.

The Wayland Baptist women got an A standard in the 4x100 relay at 46.82.

WBU's Shani Adams won 400 hurdles in 1:02.06. Selene Lopez of WBU won the 5000 in 18:28.21.

Northwood's B'Ria Wagner captured the women's long jump at 5.61 meters for a B standard. Alexis Browner of WBU also got a B standard at 5.53. Wagner also won the triple jump with an A standard 11.52. SGU's Jerica Heyd cleared a B standard at 11.30.

NU's Markie Abbott won the high jump with a B standard height of 1.65 meters.

Erinn Shaughnessy of OBU won the pole vault, clearing 2.75 along with teammate Taylor Dabney, but with fewer misses.

Paige Kannady of OBU won the discus in 47.01 for an A standard and an improvement on her No. 3 ranking. Kannady also won the shot at 13.44 for a B standard.

Janelle Durrough won the women's javelin at 40.40 for a B standard.

On the men's side, WBU's Justin Scruggs took the 100 with an A standard 10.50.

Durawn Howard of WBU won the 400 at 47.25. Travis Hinton also got an A standard at 47.67, as did WBU's Lorenzo Dolphus with a B standard at 48.14. Howard won the 200 in 21.17. His teammate Stephen Sutherland made a B standard in 21.58.

Wayland Baptist won the men's 4x100 in an A standard 41.46 with Northwood taking second with a B standard time of 41.93. The Pioneers also won with an A standard in the 4x400 at 3:13.30.

OBU teammates Alex Wilson ( 54.07) and Henry Caster (54.45) went 1-2 with B standards in the 400 hurdles.

Chris Lowery of OCU captured the 800 with a B standard 1:53.38.

Adam Godwin won the 1500 at 3:56.63 and the 5000 in 15:53.16.

WBU's Wayne Northover cleared 7.28 for a win and an A standard in the long jump. Jordan Patterson of OBU met the B standard at 7.13 to finish second. Northover won the triple jump at a B standard 14.40. Jeremy Wilchcombe of NU also got a B standard 14.27.

Christian Johnson meets a B standard for OBU in the high jump, winning at 2.03 meters.

Caleb Dunn of OBU won the discus at 46.35. OBU's Taylor Hollingshead won the men's javelin with a throw of 50.72 meters.