OU Athletic Director To Chair NCAA Basketball Selection Committee For 2015-16

Friday, July 18th 2014, 12:53 pm
By: News 9

University of Oklahoma Vice President of Intercollegiate Athletics Programs and Director of Athletics Joe Castiglione has been named chair of the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Committee for the 2015-16 academic year. Castiglione will also be vice-chair of the committee this year, working with Utah State University athletics director Scott Barnes, who begins his term as chair on Sept. 1.

"I have been incredibly fortunate to have served on this committee with three outstanding chairs in Jeff Hathaway (the current director of athletics at Hofstra University), Mike Bobinski (the current director of athletics director at Georgia Tech) and current chair Ron Wellman of Wake Forest," Castiglione said. "Watching them lead the committee throughout the year and particularly through the selection process has been educational, and having the opportunity to work along with Scott in the coming year will serve as great preparation to fill this role. It's an honor to be selected by my peers and I'm appreciative of the trust that this group, for which I have a tremendous amount of respect, has placed in me."

Castiglione is entering his 17th year as the director of athletics at Oklahoma, having been hired in 1998 after spending the previous 17 years at the University of Missouri. He began his career at Missouri as the director of communications and marketing before being named the director of athletics in 1993. The 1979 graduate of Maryland began his professional career as the sports promotions director at Rice, before going to Georgetown as director of athletic fundraising and then on to Missouri.

August 31 marks the end of the committee tenures for Wellman and Big Sky Conference commissioner Doug Fullerton. Castiglione and Barnes will be joined on the 2014-15 committee by Joe Alleva, the director of athletics at Louisiana State University; Mark Hollis, the director of athletics at Michigan State University; Judy MacLeod, the associate commissioner of Conference USA; Bruce Rasmussen, the director of athletics at Creighton University; and Peter Roby, the director of athletics at Northeastern University, along with first-year members Janet Cone, the director of athletics at the University of North Carolina, Asheville; Tom Holmoe, the director of athletics at Brigham Young University; and Bernard Muir, the director of athletics at Stanford University.