Perine Gets Big 12 Award, Shepard A Semifinalist For Biletnikoff

Monday, November 17th 2014, 11:29 am
By: News 9

Oklahoma freshman running back Samaje Perine has been named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week for his performance in a 42-30 win at Texas Tech.

The Pflugerville, Texas, native rushed for 213 yards and scored three touchdowns in leading Oklahoma to victory. It marked the second time this season he has rushed for over 200 yards in a game. He won Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week honors earlier this year after a 242-yard, four-touchdown performance at West Virginia.

Perine has 1,001 yards for the season, becoming the first OU running back to rush for over 1,000 yards since DeMarco Murray (1,214) in 2010. He is just the fifth Sooner freshman to accomplish the feat and the first since Adrian Peterson ran for 1,915 yards in 2004. Perine has scored three or more TDs three times this season and his 14 season scores is a Big 12 record for rushing touchdowns by a freshman. Perine's 64-yard TD scamper in the third quarter marked the longest rush of his career.

2014 Oklahoma Big 12 Players of the Week

Offense RB Samaje Perine at West Virginia (9/20)

Special Teams RB Alex Ross at West Virginia (9/20)

Defense CB Zack Sanchez vs. Texas (10/11)

Offense QB Trevor Knight at Iowa State (11/1)

Offense RB Samaje Perine at Texas Tech (11/15)

Oklahoma junior wide receiver Sterling Shepard is one of 10 semifinalists for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award. The award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football, regardless of position.

The Oklahoma City native currently ranks third in the Big 12 and 11th in the FBS, averaging 106.3 receiving yards per game this season. He owns five 100-yard games in 2014 and has registered two of the top five single-game receiving performance in Oklahoma history this year. He also tied a single-game school record with 15 receptions against Kansas State. He currently has 50 receptions for 957 yards (19.1 avg.) this season for the Sooners.

Semifinalists for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award are: (listed in alphabetical order)

Nelson Agholor - University of Southern California - Junior

Amari Cooper - University of Alabama - Senior

Rashad Greene - Florida State University - Senior

Rashard Higgins - Colorado State University - Sophomore

Tyler Lockett - Kansas State University - Senior

Vince Mayle - Washington State University - Senior

Sterling Shepard - University of Oklahoma - Junior

Nelson Spruce - University of Colorado - Junior

Jaelen Strong - Arizona State University - Junior

Kevin White - West Virginia University - Senior