Ogbah Named Finalist For Top Defensive End Award

Friday, December 4th 2015, 12:02 pm
By: News 9

Oklahoma State defensive end Emmanuel Ogbah was named one of six finalists for the Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award, The Ted Hendricks Foundation announced Friday.

Ogbah is joined by Penn State’s Carl Nassib, Texas A&M’s Myles Garrett, Michigan State’s Shilique Calhoun, Clemson’s Shaq Lawson and Oregon’s DeForest Buckner on the list of finalist for the award, presented annually to the nation’s top defensive end.

Ogbah, who is OSU’s first Hendricks Award finalist, has been one of the most dominant players in the country this year and has already been recognized as a Walter Camp Award semifinalist, a Bednarik Award semifinalist and a Lott IMPACT Trophy semifinalist, in addition to numerous player of the week honors on the conference and national level.

The nation’s active leader in career sacks with 28, Ogbah also leads the Big 12 and ranks third nationally with 13 sacks this season, and he leads the Big 12 and ranks 12th nationally with 17.5 tackles for loss.

Additionally, Ogbah has crushed Oklahoma State's school records for career quarterback hurries with 26 and season quarterback hurries with 19. He has at least one sack in 16 of his last 20 games.

Against first-team All-Big 12 and well-thought-of NFL prospect Le'Raven Clark from Texas Tech, Ogbah went for seven tackles, a sack, two tackles for loss and two quarterback hurries.

In OSU's overtime win at West Virginia, Ogbah scored a defensive touchdown, forced two fumbles, recovered a fumble, notched a sack, a tackle for loss and a quarterback hurry in addition to logging a season-high eight tackles. He earned national player of the week honors from the Football Writers Association of America and the Lott IMPACT Trophy for that performance.

He was also the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week after posting six tackles, two sacks and 2.5 tackles for loss in OSU's win at Texas.

Ogbah was the 2014 Big 12 Defensive Lineman of the Year and an All-Big 12 first team selection and has strong credentials to repeat those honors. Additionally, he was honored as a 2013 Academic All-Big 12 selection.

The final vote for 2015 Hendricks Award, taken from a group of coaches, media and former winners, will be announced next Wednesday, Dec. 9. This year’s winner will be honored in the spring of 2016 at a time and place to be determined.