Preseason All-Big 12 Team Announced, Mayfield Picked Offensive Player Of The Year

Wednesday, July 13th 2016, 11:31 am
By: News 9

The Preseason All-Big 12 team was announced Wednesday morning and it features nine Sooners and three Cowboys.

Quarterback Baker Mayfield led the way for OU as the Preseason Offensive Player of the Year. Running back Samaje Perine, tight end Mark Andrews and offensive lineman Orlando Brown represent the Sooners on offense while defensive lineman Charles Walker, linebacker Jordan Evans, defensive backs Steven Parker and Jordan Thomas and punter Austin Seibert feature on defense.

Receiver James Washington, defensive lineman Vincent Taylor and defensive back Jordan Sterns make up the OSU contingent.

Texas linebacker Malik Jefferson was selected as Preseason Defensive Player of the Year and former A&M quarterback Kenny Hill, now at TCU, is the Preseason Newcomer of the Year.

7/14/16 Related Story: OU First, OSU Third In Preseason Big 12 Football Poll

Preseason All-Big 12


QB – Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma

RB – Mike Warren, Iowa State

RB – Samaje Perine, Oklahoma

FB – Winston Dimel, Kansas State

WR – KD Cannon, Baylor

WR – Allen Lazard, Iowa State

WR – James Washington, Oklahoma State

TE – Mark Andrews, Oklahoma

OL – Kyle Fuller, Baylor

OL – Orlando Brown, Oklahoma

OL – Patrick Vahe, Texas

OL – Connor Williams, Texas

OL – Tyler Orlosky, West Virginia

K – Clayton Hatfield, Texas Tech

KR/PR – Kavontae Turpin, TCU


DL – Will Geary, Kansas State

DL – Jordan Willis, Kansas State

DL – Charles Walker, Oklahoma

DL – Vincent Taylor, Oklahoma State

DL – Josh Carraway, TCU

DL – James McFarland, TCU

DL – Noble Nwachukwu, West Virginia

LB – Elijah Lee, Kansas State

LB – Jordan Evans, Oklahoma

LB – Malik Jefferson, Texas

DB – Dante Barnett, Kansas State

DB – Steven Parker, Oklahoma

DB – Jordan Thomas, Oklahoma

DB – Jordan Sterns, Oklahoma State

DB – Davante Davis, Texas

P – Austin Seibert, Oklahoma