Orlando Brown Named Semifinalist For Outland Trophy

Friday, November 17th 2017, 12:13 pm

By: News 9

Oklahoma junior left tackle Orlando Brown was named one of six semifinalists for the 2017 Outland Trophy, awarded to college football's best interior lineman on offense or defense, the Football Writers Association of America announced Thursday night.

Joining Brown as semifinalists are Notre Dame offensive tackle Mike McGlinchey, Notre Dame offensive guard Quenton Nelson, Western Michigan offensive tackle Chukwuma Okorafor, Houston defensive tackle Ed Oliver and Ohio State center Billy Price.

The field for the Outland Trophy will be reduced to three finalists in an announcement at 5:30 p.m. CT on Tuesday, Nov. 21, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special on ESPNU. The winner of the 72nd Outland Trophy will be revealed on Thursday, Dec. 7, on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

A team captain, Brown is a mainstay on an OU offensive line that is regarded as one of the best in the country and that has helped the Sooners average 600.7 yards per game and 8.5 yards per play, both tops in the nation. OU also ranks first nationally in offensive touchdowns (58), passing offense (388.8 ypg), pass completion percentage (72.2), pass efficiency rating (205.2), yards per pass attempt (12.2), percentage of possessions ending in a touchdown (47.5), plays of 20-plus yards (88) and pass plays of 20-plus yards (66), and ranks fourth nationally in scoring offense (44.3 ppg). OU also leads the Big 12 in rushing offense (211.9 ypg) and time of possession (31:54).

Brown has started all 36 of Oklahoma's games the last three seasons. The 2016 Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year was named a 2017 midseason All-American by the AP, The Athletic, CBS, ESPN, Sporting News and USA Today.

The Outland Trophy, which has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946, is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at the University of Pennsylvania in the late 1800s. The Outland Trophy is the third-oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award.


Get The Daily Update!

Be among the first to get breaking news, weather, and general news updates from News On 6 delivered right to your inbox!

More Like This

November 17th, 2017

July 20th, 2022

August 31st, 2021

August 13th, 2021

Top Headlines

September 24th, 2022

September 24th, 2022

September 24th, 2022

September 24th, 2022