Oklahoma State University Selects First Woman To Be President

Friday, April 2nd 2021, 11:24 pm
By: Amber Cannon

Oklahoma State University announced Dr. Kayse Shrum as its new president on Friday.

Dr. Shrum is from Oklahoma, and she is currently the president of OSU’s Center for Health Sciences. Governor Stitt appointed Shrum as the Secretary of Health and Innovation in 2019. Shrum is also an alumna of Oklahoma State University; she earned a “doctor of osteopathic medicine degree from the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine,” according to OSU.

Shrum will be Oklahoma State University’s first woman president.

Burns Hargis, Oklahoma State University’s current President, will retire in July 2021.