New York Adds Oklahoma To Travel Quarantine List

Tuesday, July 7th 2020, 10:02 am
By: News On 6


New York has added three additional states to its quarantine list including Oklahoma.

Travelers from Delaware, Kansas and Oklahoma now will be required to isolate for 14 days upon entering the state of New York according to Governor Andrew Cuomo. The quarantine went into effect on June 24 and "applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average," according to the governor's website.

"As an increasing number of states around the country fight significant community spread, New York is taking action to maintain the precarious safety of its phased, data-driven reopening," Governor Cuomo said.

The quarantine applies to anyone who travels by plane, train, bus, car, or any other means of travel. Officials say that while the rules are voluntary, they expect everyone to follow them. The advisory does not apply to anyone who passed through the listed states during their course of travel provided that they did not stay longer than 24 hours. 

More Information: Guidance For Travel To New York

With new additions the total number of states on New York's quarantine list is now 19:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arkansas
  3. Arizona
  4. California
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Iowa
  9. Idaho
  10. Kansas
  11. Louisiana
  12. Mississippi
  13. North Carolina
  14. Nevada
  15. Oklahoma
  16. South Carolina
  17. Tennessee
  18. Texas
  19. Utah