Two In-State Players Named to Hendricks Watch List

Tuesday, August 9th 2011, 3:26 pm
By: News 9

CHICAGO – The Ted Hendricks Foundation announced the 35 pre-season candidates for the Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award Tuesday and two in-state players made the cut.

Oklahoma's Frank Alexander and Tulsa's Cory Dorris were both featured on the list for the award that honors the nation's best defensive end.

Alexander is a senior for the Sooners from Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Last year for OU, Alexander started nine games at defensive end and came in second on the team with 13 tackles for loss and seven sacks.

Meanwhile, Dorris, a Jenks native is a two-year letterwinner for the Golden Hurricane. Last year for Tulsa he started all 13 games and tallied 46 tackles and 5.5 stops for -18 yards. Dorris also earned All-Conference USA honorable mention accolades in 2010.

Now in its tenth season, the Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first team All-American. As a defensive end at the University of Miami, Ted used his agility, height and reach to block passes and kicks, force interceptions and pressure quarterbacks and running backs.

On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award's winner.

The final mid-season watch list will be announced in November and the winner will be announced on Dec. 7.

2011 Preseason Ted Hendricks Award Watch List Candidates:
Frank Alexander-Oklahoma
Cordarro Law-Southern Miss
Jake Bequette-Arkansas
Kapron Lewis-Moore-Notre Dame
Broderick Binns-Iowa
Brandon Lindsey-Pittsburgh
Andre Branch-Clemson
Stansly Maponga-TCU
Vince Browne-Northwestern
Jonathan Massaquoi-Troy
Quinton Coples-North Carolina
Shea McClellin-Boise State
Jack Crawford-Penn State
Cameron Meredit-Nebraska
Izaan Cross-Georgia Tech
Ales Okafor-Texas
Vinny Curry-Marshall
Donte Paige-Moss-North Carolina
Cory Dorris-Tulsa
Nick Perry-USC
Brandon Harold-Kansas State
Jacquies Smith-Missouri
Wes Horton-USC
Devin Taylor-South Carolina
Bruce Irvin-West Virginia
Taylor Thompson-SMU
Brandon Jenkins-Florida State
DeAngelo Tyson-Georgia
Cam Johnson-Virginia
Ryan Van Bergen-Michigan
Ethan Johnson-Notre Dame
Oliver Vernon-Miami
Datone Jones-UCLA
Nathan Williams-Ohio State
Mario Kurn-San Diego