Gov. Henry Declares State of Emergency for 17 Counties

Wednesday, February 11th 2009, 11:38 am
By: News 9

Oklahoma City - Gov. Brad Henry has declared a state of emergency for 17 Oklahoma counties following Tuesday's deadly tornado.

Related Story: Twister Tears Through Metro

At least eight people were killed in the Carter County town of Lone Grove and a dozen more were injured. Other Oklahoma County communities affected by damage include Edmond, Oklahoma City, Pawnee, Wilson and Springer.

Related Story: Tornado Kills at Least 8 in Lone Grove

The counties included in the declaration are: Canadian, Carter, Cleveland, Garvin, Jefferson, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Murray, Oklahoma, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Nowata, Osage and Washington. More counties can be added if conditions warrant.

"The thoughts and prayers of all Oklahomans are with those who suffered grievous loss in the wake of yesterday's tornadoes," Gov. Henry said. "The impacted communities need help quickly, and I intend to ensure that they receive any and all assistance at our disposal.

"The state of emergency declaration strengthens our efforts to help those areas, but it also serves as a first step toward seeking federal assistance."

The Lone Grove tornado is the deadliest in Oklahoma since 1999. On May 3 of that year, tornadoes in the central part of the state resulted in more than 40 deaths.