Jones, Weeden And Kinne On O'Brien Watch List

Friday, July 15th 2011, 12:57 pm
By: News 9

FORT WORTH, Texas – All three Division I quarterbacks in the state of Oklahoma have been nominated to the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award watch list.

Oklahoma's Landry Jones, Oklahoma State's Brandon Weeden and Tulsa's G.J. Kinne were all named to preseason list that features 38 of the nation's top collegiate quarterbacks.

The selection committee based their picks on player performance during the season last year and the expectations of the players entering the 2011 college football season.

Landry Jones, the 2010 Sammy Baugh Award winner, completed 405-of-617 passes and 38 touchdowns last season for the Sooners. He leads the nation in completions and attempts while he is No. 2 in total passing yards and touchdowns. Jones also threw for 300+ yards on nine occasions last season, the second best in OU history.

Brandon Weeden is entering his senior season at Oklahoma State. Last year for the Cowboys he set school records with 34 touchdown passes, 4,277 passing yards and 4,209 yards of total offense while also recording four of the top seven passing games in OSU history including a record 435-yard effort against Baylor. His 337 passing yards per game ranked third in the NCAA last season, and he finished fourth nationally in touchdown passes.

G.J. Kinne returns to the Tulsa lineup after completing 61 percent of his passes for 2,732 yards, and 22 touchdowns last year. He averaged 227.7 per game and his passing yardage total ranks as the seventh-best single-season mark. Kinne became the first quarterback in school history to pass for 300 yards and rush for 100 yards in the same game when he threw for 334 yards and rushed for 100 yards against Houston.

The field of candidates for the 2011 award will be narrowed down to 16 semifinalists on Monday Oct. 24 and this years winner will be announced Thursday Dec. 8.

The 35th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 20, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas.

2011 Davey O'Brien Watch List
Matt Barkley, USC, Pac-12
Tyler Bray, Tennessee, SEC
Alex Carder, Western Michigan, MAC
Zach Collaros, Cincinnati, Big East
Kirk Cousins, Michigan State, Big Ten
Dayne Crist, Notre Dame, Independent
Austin Davis, Southern Miss, C-USA
Dominique Davis, East Carolina, C-USA
Nick Foles, Arizona, Pac-12
Jeff Godfrey, UCF, C-USA
Robert Griffin III, Baylor, Big 12
Chandler Harnish, Northern Illinois, MAC
Jake Heaps, BYU, Independent
Landry Jones, Oklahoma, Big 12
Case Keenum, Houston, C-USA
G.J. Kinne, Tulsa, C-USA
Ryan Lindley, San Diego State, MWC
Andrew Luck, Stanford, Pac-12
EJ Manuel, Florida State, ACC
Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, Big Ten
Bryant Moniz, Hawaii, WAC
Kellen Moore, Boise State, MWC
Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC
Danny O'Brien, Maryland, ACC
Kyle Padron, SMU, C-USA
Dan Persa, Northwestern, Big Ten
Chris Relf, Mississippi State, SEC
Sean Renfree, Duke, ACC
Corey Robinson, Troy, Sun Belt
Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten
Nathan Scheelhaase, Illinois, Big Ten
Geno Smith, West Virginia, Big East
Tino Sunseri, Pittsburgh, Big East
Ryan Tannehill, Texas A&M, Big 12
Darron Thomas, Oregon, Pac-12
Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State, Big 12
Russell Wilson, Wisconsin, Big Ten
Jordan Wynn, Utah, Pac-12