Governor Fallin Lifts Burn Ban In 16 Oklahoma Counties

Friday, August 19th 2011, 7:21 pm
By: News 9

OKLAHOMA CITY -- With the recent rains in northeastern Oklahoma providing some relief, Governor Mary Fallin lifted the burn ban in 16 counties, her office has announced.

Effective August 23 at 1 p.m., the ban was lifted in Adair, Cherokee, Craig, Delaware, Kay, Mayes, Muskogee, Nowata, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Rogers, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner, and Washington counties.

County commissioners in these 16 counties still can enact local burn bans and, in fact, commissioners in Okmulgee, Osage, Sequoyah and Wagoner counties have enacted county burn bans.

A governor's burn ban remains in effect for 61 counties where a very high fire danger exists due to the wildland fuel conditions and fire behavior.

"The recent rainfall has not been enough to end the drought, but it did result in some moderation of the fire danger," Fallin said. "Lifting the ban in this manner will allow the 16 counties to consider the conditions and fire occurrence at a local level and take measures as they see appropriate."

Find up to date information on burn bans enacted by the governor or by county officials.