Three Cowboys And A Sooner Named FWAA All-Americans

Saturday, December 10th 2011, 2:55 pm
By: News 9

Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon, Levy Adcock and Quinn Sharp, along with OU's Ryan Broyles have all been named to the Football Writers Association of America All-America Team.

Blackmon, Adock and Broyles were all named to the All-American offense, while Sharp was named the special teams kicker.

Blackmon, who was named the 2011 Biletnikof Award winner, recorded 113 receptions for 1336 yards and 15 touchdowns for the Cowboys. He ranks second nationally in receptions per game (11.82) and eighth in receiving yards per game (111.33).

Related Story: Justin Blackmon Wins Second Straight Biletnikoff Award

Adcock, a senior from Claremore, Okla. made a huge impact for the Cowboys this season at both right and left tackle.

Sharp was selected both first team All-Big 12 punter and kicker, missing just three field goals all year, averaging 46 yards per punt on 42 attempts and had 56 of his 107 kickoffs go for touchbacks.

Broyles racked up 83 catches for 1157 yards and 10 touchdowns before he suffered a season ending knee injury.

Eleven of the 25 players selected to the team by the All-America committee come from the nation's top three teams. No. 2 Alabama led all teams with five FWAA All-Americans, followed by three each from No. 1 LSU and No. 3 Oklahoma State.

Five of this year's members were FWAA All-America repeat selections, including two receivers, Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon and Oklahoma's Ryan Broyles. Alabama defensive back Mark Barron and Boston College linebacker Luke Kuechly also earned All-America honors for the second straight season. Oklahoma State's Sharp made the team last season as a punter.