Oklahoma State Wrestling Topples No. 1 Minnesota

Sunday, December 2nd 2012, 5:28 pm
By: News 9

The No. 3 Oklahoma State wrestling team defeated top-ranked Minnesota, 22-15, in its first road match of the season at the University of Minnesota's Sports Pavilion on Sunday.

The win marks the sixth time under head coach John Smith that OSU has defeated a No. 1-ranked team.

"I was pleased with the outcome," Smith said. "In some key matches, we picked up bonus points, and there were some good performances even in the losses. Overall, I felt like we came to wrestle. There were definitely a lot of guts."

After losses at 125 and 133 pounds, the Cowboys (2-0) began putting up points at 141 pounds when Julian Feikert pinned No. 9 Nick Dardanes in 52 seconds, setting the tone for OSU.

"I just went out ready to wrestle," Feikert said. "I wrestled hard, and came out with a focused mentality. I think the guy underestimated me. When he tried to cradle me, I caught him on his back and capitalized."

No. 2 Jordan Oliver, in his first dual match of the season, also produced a fall over Minnesota's Seth Lange in 2:19.

Alex Dieringer, ranked 15th in the nation, added three for the Cowboys with a 4-2 win in overtime. In a top-10 matchup, No. 3 Tyler Caldwell of OSU beat No. 9 Cody Yohn, 8-1.

OSU's top-ranked 174-pounder, Chris Perry, was originally set up to wrestle No. 3 Logan Storley. However, in what was the final win of the day for OSU, he found himself up against Alec Ortiz. With a 12-4 major decision over Ortiz, Perry boosted the lead for the Cowboys to 22-6.

The final three bouts of the day all ended in losses by decision for the Cowboys, including a highly anticipated match between reigning NCAA champion Tony Nelson from Minnesota and No. 2 Alan Gelogaev. Nelson defeated Gelogaev, 2-0, avenging his last loss.

The Cowboys will return for an action packed weekend when they take on No. 19 Wyoming on Dec. 8 in Stillwater and No. 10 Oklahoma on Dec. 9 in Norman.

Bout Results

125 pounds - Corey Hodowanic (MINN) dec. Tyler Dorrell (OSU), 5-4

133 pounds - No. 5 Chris Dardanes (MINN) dec. No. 8 Jon Morrison (OSU), 3-1 SV

141 pounds - Julian Feikert (OSU) fall No. 9 Nick Dardanes (MINN), 0:52

149 pounds - No. 2 Jordan Oliver (OSU) fall Seth Lange (MINN), 2:19

157 pounds - No. 15 Alex Dieringer (OSU) dec. Danny Zilverberg (MINN),4-2 SV

165 pounds - No. 3 Tyler Caldwell (OSU) dec. No. 9 Cody Yohn (MINN), 8-1

174 pounds - No. 1 Chris Perry(OSU) MD Alec Ortiz (MINN), 12-4

184 pounds - No. 3 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) dec. No. 17 Chris Chionuma (OSU), 8-6

197 pounds - No. 9 Scott Schiller (MINN) dec. Zach White (OSU), 6-2

285 pounds - No. 1 Tony Nelson (MINN) dec. No. 2 Alan Gelogaev (OSU), 2-0