First All-Orange Edition Of All-College Classic Announced

Sunday, August 4th 2013, 11:34 pm
By: News 9

The 78th edition of the Oklahoma City All-College Classic is set but something is missing from the nation's oldest annual basketball tournament – the University of Oklahoma.

Instead, this year's installment will be a decidedly oranger one than usual, featuring an Oklahoma State doubleheader.

For the first time ever, the OSU women will play prior to the OSU men taking the floor at Chesapeake Energy Arena on Dec. 14.

The Cowgirls will face South Florida followed by the Cowboys taking on Louisiana Tech, which was announced by the Oklahoma City All Sports Association on Sunday.

It will mark the 37th consecutive year Oklahoma State has participated in the event and OSU won the inaugural All-College title back in 1936.

"We are thrilled to have our first-ever ‘All-Orange' All-College this year," All Sports executive director Tim Brassfield said in a press release. "From the very beginning of this historic event, Oklahoma State has been one of the biggest reasons for its success. Cowboy fans have always shown great support for the All-College and we're excited to host them in 2013, especially after their extremely successful year last season."

The OSU men finished last season in third-place in the Big 12 standings and fell in the second round of the NCAA tournament to finish the year at 24-9. The Cowboys return four starters, including Big 12 Player of the Year and All-American Marcus Smart, All-Big 12 Second-Team selection Markel Brown, All-Big 12 Third-Team pick Le'Bryan Nash and Big 12 All-Defensive member Michael Cobbins.

Louisiana Tech is coming off of a 27-7 season where it earned its first Top 25 ranking in more than 25 years and claim a share of the Western Athletic Conference title.

The first-ever women's game will feature an OSU team that finished 22-11 and fell in the second round of the NCAA Tournament. South Florida also went 22-11 and lost in the second round of the ‘Big Dance.'

Game times have yet to be finalized for this year's event.