Mayfield, Andrews Make Finalist Cuts For National Awards

Tuesday, November 14th 2017, 3:48 pm
By: News 9

Two members of the Oklahoma football program moved one step closer to taking home national awards Tuesday as senior quarterback Baker Mayfield was named one of four finalists for the Burlsworth Trophy and one of five finalists for the Unitas Gold Arm Award, while junior tight end Mark Andrews was selected as one of eight semifinalists for the Mackey Award.

The Burlsworth Trophy, which Mayfield has won each of the last two years, honors the top player who began his career as a walk-on, while the Unitas Golden Arm Award goes to the nation’s top senior or fourth-year junior quarterback. The Mackey Award is presented to the top tight end in the country.

Mayfield leads the FBS in completion percentage (.712), passing efficiency rating (202.1), yards per pass attempt (11.9) and yards per completion (16.7), while currently ranking second in total offense per game (379.0) and passing yards per game (355.9). He's completed 213-of-299 passes this year with 31 touchdowns to just five interceptions while throwing for 3,559 yards and rushing for 231 yards and another five scores.

Mayfield has thrown a TD pass in a school-record 36 consecutive games (every contest of his OU career), tied for the longest streak in Big 12 history and the fourth longest in FBS history. He's thrown at least two TD passes in a Big 12-record 23 straight contests (71 TDs to 13 interceptions during the stretch), which is believed to be the second-longest streak in FBS history.

Andrews, a midseason All-American by USA Today and the Associated Press, leads the nation’s tight ends in receiving yards (745) and yards per catch (17.3) and is second among his position group in receiving yards per game (74.5) and fourth in receptions (43).

Andrews’ reception total, which leads the Sooners, is tied for the fourth most in a single-season by a tight end in program history. For his career, he ranks fourth in OU history in career receptions by a tight end (93), ninth overall in career TD receptions (18), 10th overall in career 100-yard receiving games (3) and 19th overall (fourth among TEs) with 1,552 career receiving yards.

The winner of the 2017 Burlsworth Trophy will be announced Dec. 4, at a banquet in Springdale, Ark., hosted by the Brandon Burlsworth Foundation, in conjunction with the Springdale Rotary Club.

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award will be presented at a ceremony on Dec. 8, in Baltimore, Md.

Finalists for the 2017 John Mackey Award will be unveiled on Nov. 20, while the recipient will be announced on Dec. 6 and presented live on Dec. 7 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show at  5 p.m. CT on ESPNU.

No. 3/5 Oklahoma (9-1, 6-1 Big 12) visits Kansas (1-9, 0-7) on Saturday in Lawrence. Kickoff is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. CT on ESPN.