13 Oklahoma counties eligible for disaster aid

Monday, May 5th 2008, 9:44 pm
By: News 9

Associated Press

President Bush on Monday granted Oklahoma's request for a federal disaster declaration to help cities and counties affected by severe weather in April.

Federal funding will be available to state and local governments and some private non-profit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and repair or replacement of facilities that were damaged April 17-23, according to a statement from the White House.

Individual assistance isn't included in the declaration.

Thirteen counties are eligible for public assistance: Adair, Haskell, Hughes, Latimer, Mayes, McCurtain, McIntosh, Muskogee, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pushmataha and Sequoyah.

Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management officials said preliminary estimates show $5.4 million in damage, primarily to municipal and county roads and bridges.