Energy Set For Arizona United In Third Round Of U.S. Open Cup

Tuesday, May 27th 2014, 12:21 pm
By: News 9

The OKC Energy return to action in the U.S. Open Cup Wednesday evening with a third-round matchup against fellow league member Arizona United SC.

The match is set for 9:30 p.m. CT at the Peoria Sports Complex in Peoria, Ariz. The match airs locally in Oklahoma City on 96.1 FM KXY with Jack Damrill and Mo Boreham on the call.

Energy FC advanced to the third round with a 2-0 win over the NPSL's Tulsa Athletics on May 14.

The 101st edition of the tournament features 80 teams, an increase from the then-record 68 that took the field last year. The expansion results in both the largest number of amateur teams (42) in the tournament proper—exceeding the previous record of 34 set last year—as well as the largest contingent of pro clubs (38, surpassing last year's record of 34), with all Division I, II and III professional sides participating for the third consecutive year. An additional record for the competition will see 24 second-round matches played, exceeding the previous high of 18 in a single round (2013 first round).

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, recognized as U.S. Soccer's National Club Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The tournament has crowned a champion for 100 consecutive years dating back to 1914. This year's winner will earn $250,000 and have its name engraved on the historic Dewar Challenge Trophy, one of the oldest nationally contested trophies in American team sports.

The runner-up will take home $60,000, while the team that advances the furthest from each lower division will earn a $15,000 cash prize. D.C. United is the defending U.S. Open Cup champion, having won its third tournament title (following triumphs in 1996 and 2008) after a tense 1-0 road victory over Real Salt Lake on Oct. 1, 2013. In 1999, the competition was renamed to honor American soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt.

The winner of Wednesday's matchup advances to face the Los Angeles Galaxy of the MLS on June 11.