Russell Westbrook Named NBA's Most Valuable Player - - Oklahoma City, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports |


Russell Westbrook Named NBA's Most Valuable Player

Posted: Updated:

Russell Westbrook has been named the NBA's Most Valuable Player, the league announced on Monday night at the inaugural NBA Awards. 

Related: Victor Oladipo Wins 'Dunk Of The Year' At NBA Awards Show

Westbrook, who averaged 31.6 points, 10.7 rebounds and 10.4 assists, is the second player in NBA history to average a triple-double for an entire season.

The other two finalists for the award were Houston's James Harden and San Antonio's Kawhi Leonard. 

Westbrook is the second player in Oklahoma City history to win the MVP award (Kevin Durant, 2013). 

While the MVP award was a big accomplishment, it wasn't Westbrook's only award of the night. Westbrook won both the "Best Style" and "Game Winner of the Year" Awards. 

Special Features

iPhone App

Get breaking news, weather, sports & video directly on your iPhone.


Breaking political news & the latest headlines from the state capitol & D.C.


See where weather is happening using our live interactive radars.


Spend your money wisely with reviews of new tech gadgets & the latest news in technology.

TV Schedule

Need to know what's on TV? Check out our television schedule.

Live Radar

WARN Interactive

More Sports

  • OU Sooners

    Find the latest sports news, schedules and more for the OU Sooners now!

  • OSU Cowboys

    Get all your OSU Cowboys information from sports highlights to the latest news & videos.

  • TU Golden Hurricane

    Follow the TU Golden Hurricane! Get sports scores, news and highlights.

  • ORU Golden Eagles

    ORU Golden Eagles fans can find the latest news on the team, scores and video here!

Powered by Frankly
News 9
7401 N. Kelley Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73111 is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KWTV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.