Governor Fallin Declares State Of Emergency For 14 Counties

Tuesday, May 24th 2011, 11:56 am
By: News 9

OKLAHOMA CITY -- Governor Mary Fallin Tuesday declared a State of Emergency for 14 Oklahoma counties due to tornadoes, severe storms, straight line winds and flooding that began Sunday.

The counties included in the declaration are: Adair, Blaine, Cherokee, Craig, Delaware, Kiowa, Mayes, Muskogee, Nowata, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Rogers and Wagoner.

The declaration can be amended to add additional counties if conditions warrant.

Since Sunday, these Oklahoma counties have experienced tornadoes, straight line winds, damaging hail and flooding. Initial assessments show more than 80 structures were damaged and power lines were downed by the storms.

Under the Executive Order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.