Nine Oklahoma counties get drought aid - - Oklahoma City, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports |

Nine Oklahoma counties get drought aid

Posted: Updated:

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- The U.S. Department of Agriculture has issued an agricultural disaster declaration for nine Oklahoma counties.

The designation announced Tuesday was in response to a request from Gov. Brad Henry. It will allow ranchers and farmers in those counties and five contiguous counties to receive federal assistance.

Extreme heat, dry weather and high winds have contributed to heavy damage to hay forages, livestock grazing lands, alfalfa, and other crops in parts of western and northwest Oklahoma.

The disaster designation will help farmers and ranchers in Cimarron, Texas, Beaver, Harper, Woodward, Ellis, Roger Mills, Dewey and Woods counties. The five contiguous counties affected by the designation are Alfalfa, Beckham, Blaine, Custer, and Major counties.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by Frankly
News 9
7401 N. Kelley Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73111 is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KWTV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.