President Obama Signs Disaster Declaration For 6 Oklahoma Counti - - Oklahoma City, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports |


President Obama Signs Disaster Declaration For 6 Oklahoma Counties

Posted: Updated:

President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration for six Oklahoma counties, clearing the way for federal aid following severe storms and flooding last month.

Obama signed the order Friday to help supplement state and local recovery efforts following severe storms June 11-13. Federal funding will be available for emergency work and repairs to facilities damaged by storms in Caddo, Comanche, Cotton, Garvin, Grady and Stephens counties.

In addition, Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin declared a state of emergency Friday for 35 Oklahoma counties following severe storms, strong winds, tornadoes and flooding earlier this week.

Fallin's executive order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases for disaster relief and preparedness. It's also the first step toward seeking federal aid.

Severe storms since Wednesday have damaged structures in central and eastern Oklahoma.

Special Features

iPhone App

Get breaking news, weather, sports & video directly on your iPhone.


Breaking political news & the latest headlines from the state capitol & D.C.


See where weather is happening using our live interactive radars.


Spend your money wisely with reviews of new tech gadgets & the latest news in technology.

TV Schedule

Need to know what's on TV? Check out our television schedule.

Live Radar

WARN Interactive
Powered by Frankly
News 9
7401 N. Kelley Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73111 is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KWTV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.