OKCPS Announces Teacher Of The Year - News9.com - Oklahoma City, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports |

OKCPS Announces Teacher Of The Year

Posted: Updated:
[File Photo] [File Photo]

Oklahoma City Public Schools announced their teacher of the year during a ceremony at Will Rogers Theatre, Wednesday evening.

Samantha Murch, the Drama and Speech teacher and soccer coach at Star Spencer High School, was presented the award for Oklahoma City Public Schools 2015-2016 District Teacher of the Year by The Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools.

Murch has spent the last four years of her five years of experience at Star Spencer.

OKCPS Superintendent, Rob Neu, said “she embodies the very best qualities” of the teachers they have in the district and the competition was tough.

Murch received a $1,500 classroom grant and will represent OKCPS in the state Teacher of the Year contest. The statewide winner will be announced in August.

Elizabeth Ejtehadi, third grade teacher at Wilson Elementary, was named first runner-up and Lori Hoegg, kindergarten teacher at West Nichols Hills Elementary was second runner-up.

Each Teacher of the Year finalist receives a $750 classroom grant. The Foundation's Stars of Education program also honors outstanding support staff, volunteers, and partners in the district. Russell Westbrook's "Why Not?" Foundation, which partnered with the school district to create reading rooms at three locations, won the Foundation's Perfect Partnership honor and a $1,000 award.

Powered by Frankly
News 9
7401 N. Kelley Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73111
News9.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KWTV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.