OKLAHOMA CITY - Oklahoma City Thunder forward Serge Ibaka was named to the NBA All-Defensive First Team for the 2011-12 season on Wednesday.

This season, he led the NBA and set an all-time franchise record with an average of 3.65 blocks per game. Ibaka's block average was the highest for any NBA player in more than a decade.

During the 2011-12 season, his third year in the NBA, Ibaka posted 12 double-doubles while also leading the team in rebounding on 21 occasions.

Led by Ibaka, the Thunder as a team recorded a league-best 8.17 blocks per game during the past season, which represents the highest total for any NBA team since the 1993-94 season.

On Feb. 18 against Denver, Ibaka recorded 14 points, 15 rebounds and 11 blocks to become the first player in franchise history to record a triple-double which included blocked shots. His 11 blocks in the game set an all-time franchise record. Ibaka registered 10-plus blocks on three separate occasions during the 2011-12 season.

Earlier this month, Ibaka finished second in the NBA's Defensive Player of the Year balloting. Ibaka received 41 first place votes and finished just 17 points behind Tyson Chandler.

Below are the results for the 2011-12 NBA All-Defensive Teams balloting:

Position Player, Team 1st 2nd Points

Forward LeBron James, Miami 24 5 53
Forward Serge Ibaka, Oklahoma City 20 7 47
Center Dwight Howard, Orlando 16 9 41
Guard Chris Paul, L.A. Clippers 13 9 35
Guard Tony Allen, Memphis 13 7 33

Position Player, Team 1st 2nd Points

Forward Kevin Garnett, Boston 8 10 26
Forward Luol Deng, Chicago 6 8 20
Center Tyson Chandler, New York 13 10 36
Guard Rajon Rondo, Boston 9 11 29
Guard Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers 7 3 17