Federal Government Approves Oklahoma’s Request For Winter Storm Aid

Monday, December 21st 2020, 4:01 pm
By: News 9


Governor Kevin Stitt announced that the federal government approved the state's request for disaster assistance on Monday.

The declaration delivers public assistance to 13 counties related to the ice storm that began on October 26. The storm system produced ice in some areas, left many without power, and resulted in an estimated $27 million in debris removal and other damages.

“I am grateful to President Trump and his administration for getting this important assistance across the finish line to help Oklahomans,” said Gov. Stitt. “This funding will help us continue to recover from a historic winter storm.”

The counties included in this declaration are Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Dewey, Grady, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, Noble, Oklahoma, Payne, Pottawatomie, and Roger Mills.

Related Stories:

Power Outages Primary Impact Of Rare October Ice Storm

OKC's Survivor Tree Damaged, Withstands Ice Storm

The state is still documenting damages and will submit a request to add 16 additional counties to the declaration. Counties that will be included in the add-on request are Alfalfa, Blaine, Comanche, Custer, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Jackson, Kay, Lincoln, Major, McClain, Pawnee, Stephens, Tillman, and Washita.