SEC University Presidents Agree On Conference-Only 2020 Football Schedule

Thursday, July 30th 2020, 3:41 pm
By: Nate Kotisso


All fourteen Southeastern Conference school presidents have agreed to move forward with a 10-game, SEC-only football schedule for the 2020 season. The news was first reported by Sports Illustrated on Thursday afternoon.

The SEC football schedule will begin on Sept. 26, according to the report.

The SEC presidents' vote means Oklahoma's home date vs. Tennessee on Sept. 12 will not take place. Neither OU nor Tennessee have announced the status on their future matchup as of yet.

Last week, the NCAA granted OU and Missouri State's waiver request to play its season opener a week earlier to kick off their 2020 season. The Sooners and Bears will meet Aug. 29 in Norman.

Related: OU Football Moves Its Season Opener A Week Earlier Than Expected

In other Big 12 Conference football news, News 9's Lee Benson confirmed that the league's Virtual Football Media Day on Aug. 3 has been canceled. The conference does not yet know if the event will be rescheduled.