OKCPS Names 9 Finalist For 2020 Teacher Of The Year Award

Wednesday, February 12th 2020, 11:26 pm
By: News 9

The Oklahoma City Public School district has named nine finalist for this year's Teacher of the Year award. 

There are pre-kindergarten, grade school and special education teachers on the list, as well as a library media specialist. 

Below is a full list of the finalists: 

  • Michelle Cheney, Kaiser Elementary, 3rd Grade Teacher
  • Leslie Davis, Cleveland Elementary, 1st Grade Teacher
  • Amanda Girdler, Taft Middle School, 5th Grade Math and Science Teacher
  • Mary (Katy) Hamilton, Johnson Pre-K Center, SPED Pre-K Teacher
  • Danielle Hubble, Wheeler Middle School, SPED English Language Arts Teacher
  • Laura Hughes, Heronville Elementary, Pre-K Teacher
  • Lee Peacock Jones, Van Buren Elementary, Library Media Specialist
  • Angela Peake, Coolidge Elementary, SPED/ID Teacher
  • Jennifer Sinclair, Nichols Hills Enterprise Elementary, Kindergarten Teacher

The finalists will be recognized at a ceremony on May 7th at the Historic Oklahoma Farmers Public Market.