Governor Fallin Tours Damage In Woodward, Declares State Of Emergency

Sunday, April 15th 2012, 1:53 pm
By: News 9

Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin declared a State of Emergency on Sunday for 12 Oklahoma counties due to tornadoes, severe storms, straight line winds and flooding that began Friday, April 13.

The counties included in the declaration are: Alfalfa, Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Ellis, Harper, Jackson, Kiowa, Logan, Oklahoma, Woods and Woodward.

Since Friday, these Oklahoma counties have experienced tornadoes, straight line winds, damaging hail and flooding.

Damage assessments continue in the hardest hit areas, including the city of Woodward where a large tornado has resulted in extensive damage to homes and businesses as well as numerous fatalities.

4/15/2012 Related Story: Massive Damage, Fatalities After Tornado Strikes Woodward

"My thoughts and prayers go out to those families who have lost loved ones or seen their homes destroyed," Fallin said. "The state of Oklahoma is currently doing everything it can to provide relief to the communities in the path of last night's storms and tornadoes. We will continue to work to provide every bit of assistance that we can in the coming days."

Under the Executive Order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

Governor Fallin also toured the tornado damage in Woodward at 2:30 p.m. Sunday.