Finalists Named For 2013 OKC Public Schools Teacher Of The Year

Thursday, November 15th 2012, 4:25 pm
By: News 9

Nine teachers are vying for the opportunity to become the 2013 Oklahoma City Public Schools' Teacher of the Year.

"Oklahoma City has some of the state's most talented and dedicated teachers," said Lori Dickinson, president of The Foundation. "We're proud to honor the outstanding educators for their efforts and the positive impact they have on children in Oklahoma City."

The 2013 Oklahoma City Public Schools Teacher of the Year finalists are:

  • Susan Bumgarner, pre-kindergarten, Wilson Arts Integration Elementary School
  • Suzanne Carter, first grade, Telstar Elementary
  • Sherry Dew, seventh-grade geography and Oklahoma history, Webster Middle School
  • Adelita Dixon-Hernandez, dance, Capitol Hill High School
  • Mary Johnson, kindergarten, Rancho Village Elementary
  • Heather Meldrum, fifth grade, Stanley F. Hupfeld Academy at Western Village
  • Michael Spellis, pre-algebra and algebra, Taft Middle School
  • Lisa Ummel-Ingram, fifth grade, Wheeler Elementary
  • Kristin Whitmore, third grade, Sequoyah Elementary

Each school has the option to select a building Teacher of the Year. A committee of district educators, including several former teacher of the year finalists and winners, select the finalists and ultimately the District Teacher of the Year.  Teachers complete a written portfolio and a video of their classroom teaching. They are also interviewed by the selection committee.

The winner will be announced on April 25 at the Foundation's Stars of Education ceremony. This year's winner will succeed 2012 District Teacher of the Year Daniel Buckmaster, a sixth-grade teacher at Belle lsle Enterprise Middle School.

Each finalist receives $750. The winner, who will also compete in the state Teacher of the Year contest, will receive $1,500.

Devon Energy and Chesapeake Energy Corp. are the presenting sponsors for the Teacher of the Year and Stars of Education program, which honors district staff, volunteers, and community organizations and business partnerships that provide outstanding support for the children and teachers in Oklahoma City Public Schools.

Other teachers selected as their school's 2013 Teacher of the Year are:

  • Cheri Reilly, Arthur Elementary
  • David Barnes, Belle Isle Enterprise Middle School
  • Suzanne Jackson, Bodine Elementary
  • Jessica Robinson, Britton Elementary
  • Mary Miller, Buchanan Elementary
  • Lacy (Elizabeth) Pappano, Capitol Hill Elementary
  • Cheryl Smith, Cesar Chavez Elementary School
  • Brandon Risenhoover, Classen School of Advanced Studies
  • Kate Glasson, Cleveland Elementary
  • Kristie Rodriguez, Columbus Enterprise Elementary
  • Rocheyl Beliel, Coolidge Elementary
  • Brenda Asher, Edgemere Elementary
  • Amy Harrington, Edwards Elementary
  • George Perry, Emerson High School
  • Hong Lam, Eugene Field Elementary
  • Anjanette Wallace, F.D. Moon Academy
  • Bridge Akers, Fillmore Elementary
  • Nikole Debose-Hunter, Gatewood Elementary
  • Tina Widell, Greystone Lower Elementary
  • Mildred Stevenson, Greystone Upper Elementary
  • Ninnah Webb, Hawthorne Elementary
  • Rhonda Wingate, Hayes Elementary
  • Thomas Parker, Heronville Elementary
  • John D. Strain, Hillcrest Elementary
  • Terry Sharp, Jackson Middle School
  • Claudia Jones, John Marshall High School
  • Sara White, Johnson Elementary
  • Amy Leazer, Kaiser Elementary
  • Claudia Gaytan, Lee Elementary
  • Laurie Cochran, Linwood Elementary
  • Winter Kozak, Mark Twain Elementary
  • Nakita Green, Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary
  • Regan Moad, Monroe Elementary
  • Jocelyn Morgan, Nichols Hills Elementary
  • Carole Thompson, Northeast Academy
  • Natalie Bowman, Northwest Classen High School
  • Cheryl Nieves, Oakridge Elementary
  • Anne Smittick, Oklahoma Centennial Mid-High
  • Angela Davis, Parks Elementary
  • Pamela Begley, Pierce Elementary
  • Marla Shepherd, Prairie Queen Elementary
  • Keri Packard, Putnam Heights Academy
  • Cheryl Marvel, Quail Creek Elementary
  • Beth Ann Fint, Ridgeview Elementary
  • Relva Giesey, Rockwood Elementary
  • Ravonne French, Rogers Middle School
  • Vickie Kastl, Santa Fe South Charter High School
  • Lisa Jobe-Elkins, Southeast High School
  • Martha (Kristie) Hull, Southern Hills Elementary
  • Kelly Dugan, Spencer Elementary
  • Beth Hise, Stand Watie Elementary
  • Tiamber Derrick, Star Spencer High School
  • Angela Smith, West Nichols Hills Elementary
  • Ana Raygoza, Westwood Elementary
  • Diane Combest, Willow Brook Elementary