White House Approves Wildfire Aid for 9 Counties

Friday, June 19th 2009, 11:27 pm
By: News 9

Staff and Wire Reports

OKLAHOMA CITY -- The White House has approved disaster aid for individuals and businesses suffering losses because of wildfires in April.

The office of Gov. Brad Henry made the announcement on Friday.

The aid applies to those affected in Carter, Cleveland, Grady, Lincoln, McClain, Murray, Oklahoma, Payne and Stephens counties.

Nearly 270 homes and businesses were damaged beginning April 9 as fires burned more than 100,000 acres across the state. That included 228 homes that were destroyed.

Oklahomans who suffered uninsured damage are eligible for assistance for home repairs or temporary housing, small business low-interest loans, disaster unemployment assistance and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

Call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to apply for assistance. Those with speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Individuals may also register for disaster assistance online.