Mayors Unopposed In Oklahoma County Municipal Elections

Friday, February 11th 2011, 11:24 am
By: News 9

OKLAHOMA CITY-- Three mayors in Oklahoma County will win re-election on March 1.

Edmond mayor Patrice Douglas, Del City mayor Brian Linley and Harrah mayor Larry Fryar did not draw any challengers in primary municipal elections.

Oklahomans seeking municipal offices had until 5 p.m. Wednesday to declare their candidacy.

Municipal general elections are scheduled for April 5.

See a complete list of the candidates.

In Edmond, Victoria Caldwell and John Combs filed for city council ward one. Anne DeClouette and incumbent Elizabeth Waner are running for city council ward two.

Forest Park trustee Marianne Yarbrough is unopposed for office one. George Smith and Ezell Swain, Jr. are running for office three. Nada Dobson and Dorothy Winston filed for office five.

In Jones, Michael Calver, Roger Choate, Matthew Elerick and Ray Poland are running for three city trustee positions.

In Luther, Kim Bourns, Brian Martin, James Richard Smith and Cecelia Taft are hoping to fill two trustee positions. Meanwhile, eight candidates filed for three other trustee positions: Gary Anderson, Betty Jackson, James Jackson, Ronald Johnson, Carolyn Lawson, Teka Martin, Shane Levi Mustard and Edward Threatt.

Spencer residents Frank Calvin and Tonni Lyn Canaday filed for city council ward one. Joe Lott and Earnest Ware are running for council ward two.

In Valley Brook, Aaron Greb and Joe Sentell will face off for trustee office three. Candidates are running unopposed in two other trustee elections, as well as treasurer.

James Gilbert and Ramona Manwarren filed for Woodland Park trustee office three. Candidates for another trustee office and the town clerk are running unopposed.

Candidates running for council in Del City and Harrah did not draw any challengers.